Founders' Awards

Every year at its annual meeting, Historic Lexington Foundation presents Founders’ Awards to recognize individuals and institutions for significant preservation efforts. In addition to the recognition of the award recipients, the Founders’ Awards have served as an important tool for promoting public awareness of the benefits of historic preservation.


Recent recipients of Preservation Awards have included:


Skip Ravenhorst and Seth Goodhart for Beechenbrook Chapel at Jordan’s Point.










Cliff DeVito and Chris Walker for their restoration of Forest Oaks near Natural Bridge.





Other Recent Awards


Brownsburg Museum

Janie and Will Harris

John Adamson



H.E. “Skip” Ravenhorst



Teddy and Ann Parker Gottwald

Charles and Kim Cory

Gene and Nancy Sullivan

Past Awards

Charles Hallock for the J.T. McCrum House in Lexington

Rebecca Wilson for Grace House in Lexington

Dan and Kathleen Vance for Promoting Upper Story Restoration in Lexington

CornerStone Bank for Community Development and Financing Work

The Old Rockbridge County Jail

The Old Rockbridge County Courthouse

The Southern Inn in Lexington

The  Old Troubadour Theatre in Lexington

Community Bank for the Preservation of its Bank Building in Buena Vista

Washington and Lee University for Newcomb Hall

Virginia Military Institute for Gilham House

© 2015 Historic Lexington Foundation

website design by Mariner Media